Show me your hunger!

Cookiemonster, show me your HUNGER (copyright by esti- on flickr)

Cookiemonster, show me your HUNGER (copyright by esti- on flickr)

Today I had lunch with my colleague Benjamina Randrianarivelo  and we talked about what we are looking for in people that we train in our respective methods. He is passionate for the Rapid Results Approach (I am getting there too…) and I, no surprise here, teach Net-Map whereever I go… Sure, we are looking for people who are clever, who can connect to people, who have experience etc. but the one most important thing you have to be is hungry. No not just hungry, HUNGRY!

In the good seven years since I have developed Net-Map I have trained more people than I can count. And most of them will do a decent job at Net-Mapping afterward. But there are some who have moved to be virtuosos, Net-Map blackbelts, people who might know more about the method than I do. And what they have in common is that they don’t stop asking questions and digging deeper. Jennifer Hauck continues to ask how you deal with the validity when using Net-Map as a research method, Noora Aberman has driven both of us crazy and back when trying to figure out how to best stack larger datasets and still make sense of the data, Paolo Brunello has filmed teams who Net-Mapped and can’t stop wondering about the group dynamics you can observe, who picks up the pen, who leans back when and what does that mean. They are not the only ones (and these are not the only questions they are obsessed with), but they sure have challenged me and stayed hungry for more over the years. Also, they all have made sure to learn more about network analysis than I could teach them.

I wonder, is being HUNGRY! part of some people’s personality, that they are somehow always looking, digging, asking questions and learning while other people are quite satisfied with where they are and what they know already? Are there different rules about how you deal with your hunger in different cultures? Where you come, from can you actually approach an expert with questions or do you have to rather read up on things by yourself? Can you even envisage yourself becoming a super-expert on something, or do you think your role is rather that of an obedient student and supporter?

Well, if you feel this funny inkling in your stomach, this tickling and growling, feel free:

SHOW ME YOUR HUNGER!

If you want to learn, don’t hesitate, contact me, ask me questions, digg deeper.

2 Responses

  1. First off I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing. I’ve had a tough time
    clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes tend to be lost simply just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Kudos!

    • Hi,
      Well, people use different practices and I know that for some people having a set writing routine works best. For me, the most interesting thoughts come to me when I am not in front of the computer, so I always have something to write with me. It is much more likely that I write a good post on a scrap of paper on the metro than that I do when I sit down and tell myself: Time for another post. Good Luck and don’t be too hard on yourself.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

