Quote of the day: About social networks and being poor – or not being poor

“I don’t have much by way of possessions, a lady riding the bus to Montgomery once told me. But, she said, I do have a lot of belongings. I belong to my family, my people, my church. And they belong to me. With all the mouths I feed, she continued, looking out the window, I won’t lie to you – I could use one of them big houses. But don’t never, ever let anybody tell you that you’re poor. In the eyes of the world, maybe, she said. You just keep looking through your own eyes.”

from: Traveling Light – On the Road with America’s Poor, by Kath Weston, 2008.

One Response

  1. Inspiring quote

Leave a Reply

