Net-Map introduction workshop in Lueneburg, Germany (29th October)

Learn mapping - like the participants at our Net-Map Summer School in Italy

My readers often ask me: When do you give the next Net-Map training in my part of the world. As most of my trainings are organized by organizations with rather specific purpose, they tend to be open only to this organization’s internal audience. My next introduction workshop in Germany is different: It is part of a conference on sustainable development which is organized by the alumni of my old university in Lueneburg and it is open to the interested public.

Esther Kreuz, one of the newly certified Net-Map facilitators, who attended the certification course in Italy, will help me with this workshop: She will be the Net-Mapper in the room while I will do most of the teaching online, from my office in Washington. I’d love to welcome some of my German readers there.

2 Responses

  1. This was the greatest reading I have had in a long time.
    I am in process of developing a tool for evaluating academic networks and wondering the possibility of adapting your methodology and tools. can you help?

    • Hi Stephen,
      I’d be happy to help. Just tell me a bit more about what you are planning to do. I know that there is a lot of social network analysis about academic networks which basically analyzed large datasets of who-publishes-with-whom. For that kind of analysis you would rather use the standard SNA software packages, I think a lot of people like Pajek for large datasets. If you are, on the other hand, more interested in looking at a combination of qualitative and quantitative analysis and want to interview academics to find out more about the structure, content, bottlenecks, motivations etc. then something like Net-Map makes a lot of sense.
      Cheers
      Eva

Leave a Reply

